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108
Communication
Undergraduate 2
05/02/2011

Additional Communication Flashcards

 


 

Cards

Term
Cable & Satellite TV
Definition

HBO (home box office) est 1972

in 1975 HBO began distributing movies by satellite as "premium cable"

 

Term
Premium Cable
Definition

offering high quality content and began to erode network broadcasters' profits

 

the FCC made it possible for MSO's to host other satellite networks such as HBO, Showtime and Cinemax

Term
The Cable TV Consumer Protection Act of 1992
Definition
required operators to offer basic cable
Term
Multiple System Operators (MSO)
Definition
own several cable franchiese such as Time Warner
Term
Multiplexing
Definition
carrying 2 or more signals over the same channel
Term
Interactive TV
Definition

- Video on Deman (VOD)

- One Click Shopping

- Local Info on Demand

- Program/Program Guise Interactivity

Term
What makes an Ad unique?
Definition

- goal oriented (to sell products)

- invested - not cheap

- concise - short

- using many encoded codes

- freedom and creativity

Term
Strategic communication
Definition
clear intention - Ads and PR - used to influence audience
Term
Does mass media need advertising?
Definition
Yes, mutual relationship
Term
Early Ad history
Definition

3000 BC: Babylonian merchants hired barkers to shout out goods and prices at passerbys

 

By 15th century, siquis-pinup want ads for all sorts of products and services

 

1625 - first newsbook containing ads, The Weekly News in England

Term
Industrial Revolution and Civil war
Definition
brought about expansion of advertising, which helped emergence of national brands
Term
Magazine Ads
Definition
by the turn of the century, mags financially supported primarily by advertisers rather than by readers
Term
The Ad agency and Professionalism
Definition

- between the Civil War and WWI ads became more creative and expensive

- 1869: F. Wayland Ayer began N.W. Ayer: a "full service" advertising agency

- number of leading ad agencies and publishers mounted a crusade against misleading acts

Term
TV Ad history
Definition

early tv shows - single sponsered

 

1959 = Quiz show scandal = multiple sponsors

 

1965 - every tv ad was 60 seconds

Term
Parity Products
Definition
most brands in a given product category - essentially the same
Term
Unique Seling Proposition (USP)
Definition
highlighting the aspect of a product that sets it apart from other brands in the same product category
Term
Brand Awareness
Definition
identification of a product with a particular manufacturer
Term
Ad Regulation history
Definition

1914 - Federal Trade Commission (FTC)

 

1971 - The National Advertising Review Board (NARB)

 

Term
an Ad is false if ...
Definition

- it lies outright

- does not tell the whole truth

- lies by implication, words, design, etc..

Term
Ad regulation
Definition
the FTC can issue a cease-and-desist order, impose fine, and order corrective ad
Term
Puffery
Definition
"WORLD'S BEST TASTING PIZZA"
Term
Ads - Cons
Definition

- intrusive

- deceptive

- exploits children (40,000 TV ads per year)

- demeans and corrupts culture

--AIDA approach - attention, creative interest, stimulate desire, and promote action

--Consumer culture - personal worth and identity reside not in ourselves but in the products wit which we surrond ourselves

Term
Ads Pros
Definition

- helps gather info

- supports economy

- increases national productivity

- ad revenues make the free mass media possible

Term
Think about tv
Definition

- State owned media (China)

- Audience sponsored media - public broadcasting

- Commercial sponsored media (Network TV)

 

Term
Effectiveness of Ad
Definition

Cost per thousand (CPM) - the cost of reaching 1,000 audience members

 

-$60,000 for 1 million ppl

CPM = $60

cost per person = 60,000/1,000,000 = .06

CPM = $.06 x 1,000 = $60

Term
Demographic segementation
Definition
appealing to audiences defined by demography (gender, race)
Term
psychographic segmentation
Definition
appealing to consumer groups with similar lifestyles, attitudes, values and behaviors
Term
cyberadvertising
Definition
the convergence of print and broadcast ads with the internet
Term
PR
Definition
management function that focuses on relationships and communications that individuals and organizations have with other groups
Term
Ad vs PR
Definition

ad - sell prodcut

pr - maintain relationship with public

ad - rely on mass media and the media needs ads

pr - relies on media, but not all the time

Term

Pseudo event

 

Definition
to attract public attention
Term
Propaganda Publicity Stage
Definition

Stage 1

- corporate PR

- 1889: Westinghouse Electric - 1st PR department

- Ad agencies began PR services

- 1906: Publicity Bureau helped the railroad undustry challenge federal regulations

Term
Early Two-Way Communication
Definition

Stage 2

- WWI: Pres Wilson recognized the need for PR in support of war effort

- 1930's: FD Roosevelt began PR campaign to win support for New Deal policies

Term
Advanced Two-Way Communication
Definition

Stage 3

- Post-WWII US - social change and expansion of consumer culture

- organizations need to know what their clients were thinking, liked, and what concerned and satisfied them

- PR = integrated two-way comn, employing research, ads, and promotion

Term
Globalization in PR
Definition

foreign ownership and in reach of PR firms operations into foreign countries (Trans-National Corps, Cultural differences)

 

Term
Greenwashing
Definition
countering of PR efforts aimed at clients by environmentalists
Term
Online information and ads are growing part of the total PR media mix
Definition
Video news releases, videoconferencing
Term
Integrated Marketing Communications (IMC)
Definition
firms combine PR, marketing, ad, and promotion functions into communication campaign at home on the Web, television and magazine
Term
Integrated Marketing Communications (IMC)
Definition
firms combine PR, marketing, ad, and promotion functions into communication campaign at home on the Web, television and magazine
Term
Conceptualizing Globalization
Definition

- the intensification of global interaction

- time and space compression, crossing gro-political/national-cultural boundaries, etc

- media = a very important part of globalization

Term
Global Communication in the 1800's
Definition

- colonial powers

- military

- traders/business

- religion

Term
Early 1900s
Definition
european colonial powers started using shortwave radio
Term
shortwave
Definition
high frequencies reflect or skip off the ionosphere, producing sky waves that can travel vast distances
Term
antigovernment (anti-regime) radio
Definition
constituted important segment of internation broadcasting
Term
Clandestine Stations
Definition

- emerged from the darkest shadows of political conflict

- operating from inside of the region - indigenous stations

- radio stations operating from the outide are exogenous stations

- pirate broadcasters - commercial -- illegall operated stations broadcasted to british audiences from offshore of foreign facilities

Term
external services
Definition

1940: Voice of America (VOA) - to counter-enemy propaganda and disseminate information about US

 

BBC World Service - UK augmented its colonial broadcast

Term
Surrogate Services
Definition
broadcast operations by one country to substitute for another's own domestic service - prompted US to establish, Radio Marti, to Communist Cuba
Term
Satellites
Definition

1957: Soviets Sputnik

 

1962: US - AT&Ts Telstar 1 - Congress established the Communications Satellite Corporation (COMSAT)

- JFK - International Telecommunications Satellite Organization (INTELSAT)

 

1982: INTELSATs system became large; began offering TV full-time leases

Term
Four Comparative Concepts of Global Media Today
Definition

1. Western concept = Many european tvs must limit ads and increase public affairs and news in exchange for their broadcast licenses

2. Development concept = media must assist in beneficial development of the country

3. Revolutionary concept = no country officially embraces this as a normative theory, yet a nations mass media can serve the goals of a revolution

4. Authoritarian systems = media serve the govt

Term
World leader of international media distribution
Definition
US
Term
Cultural Imperialism
Definition
invasion of indigenous cultures by powerful foreign countries through mass media
Term
Consequences of cultural imperialism
Definition

- diminishing local media/cultural production

- english over local languages

- western media alter social learning and shared memories

- money flow

Term
UNESCOs MacBride Report
Definition
1980 - study to maintain national and cultural sovereignty in face of sapid globalization of mass media, proposed New World Information Order (NWIO)
Term
Global Village
Definition
Mardhall McLuhan's idea that new communication techonologies will permit people to become involved in one another's lives - one single village
Term
Information Gap
Definition
those without the required technology have less access to information
Term
digital divide
Definition
lack of technological access among people of color, the poor, etc...
Term
libertarianism
Definition
people cannot govern themselves in a demcracy unless they have access to the information for that governance
Term
Two broad areas of media regulations
Definition

contents = Libel and Slander, sexually explicit materials, fairness doctrine, copyright, ads, war reporting

 

structure = broadcast license, technology, media ownership (ex: Telecommunications Act)

Term
First Amendment - keys
Definition

- government regulation of media must be unobtrusive and sufficiently justified

- media's self-regulation must be sufficiently effective to render official restraint unnecessary

- media practitioner's conduct should be ethical to warrant this special protection

Term

Ad hoc balancing of interests

 

Definition

Libel – false and malicious publication that damages a person’s reputation

Slander – oral/spoken defamation of a person’s character

 

Term

  Prior restraint

 

Definition

   The government’s power to prevent the publication or broadcast of expression

 

Term
Copyright
Definition

granting ownership of given piece of expression

- once expires, if the creator doesn't renew it, material passes into public domain

- fair use - instances when material can be used w/o permission or payment

- internet - rethinking of copyright

- shield laws - protects reporters rights to maintain sources confidentiality in courts of law

-Iraq raised the question of embedding reporters - accepting military control over their output in exchange for close contact with troops

- truth and honesty

 

Term
Communication
Definition

transmission of a message from a source to a receiver

- must be sharing of meaning

- message and response feedback

Term
Lasswell's 5 W's
Definition

1. who

2. says what

3. through which channels

4. to whom

5. with what effect

Term
messages are encoded
Definition

transformed into understandable sign and symbol system

- once received, message is decoded and the signs/symbols are interpreted

 

carried by a medium

Term
culture
Definition

learned behavior of members of a given social group

we learn culture through comn and the media

Term
functions and effects of media
Definition

limits our options and provides guidelines for behavior

 

dominant culture is usually challenged by alternative culture

Term
invention of writing
Definition

oral/preliterate culture

ideogrammatic writing - chinese

alphabet - sound

syllable alphabet

writing brough uniformity, long distance and recording of memory

Term
Gutenberg Revolution
Definition

printing press - 1446

the bible drove the printing press

Term
literacy
Definition
the ability to effectively and efficiently comprehend and use written symbols
Term
appointment consumption
Definition
scheduled program that you watch at the scheduled time and day
Term
consumption on demand
Definition

DVR, Hulu

the ability to access any content anytime anywhere

Term
convergence
Definition
the erosion of traditional distinctions among media
Term
industries in turmoil
Definition

movie attendence is flat

album sales decrease

major tv networks possess only 55% of viewing audience

media consumption is at an all time high

Term
media conglomerate
Definition
AOL Time Warner
Term
ownership concentration
Definition
fewer owners own more media companies
Term
conglomeration
Definition

ownership of the media outlets by larger non-media company

(GE owns MSNBC)

Term
oligopoly
Definition
a concentration of media industries into an ever smaller number of companies
Term
concentrated media
Definition

AOL time warner

Random house

Clear Channel

Disney-ABC, General Electric-NBC

News Corp - Fox

SONY

Term
economics of scale
Definition

relative cost of an operations output declines as the size of the endeavor grows

 

ex: it costs money to make a movie but does not cost much to distribute and make copies of it

Term
synergy
Definition

the use by the media corp of as many channels of delivery as possible for similar content

 

media can sell well if a company has book, magazine, film, music, tv, etc...

Term
consequences of concentration
Definition

-lack of diverse content globally

-"safe" contents

-price goes up

-more commercially driven contents

-medias watchdog role decreases - watching against illegal or unethical content

Term
hypercommercialism
Definition
increasing the amount of ad and mixing of commercial and non-commercial media contents
Term
product placement
Definition

oreos on tv

coke cups on american idol

Term
brand entertainment
Definition

brands are part of and are essential to the program

ex: camero from transformers

Term
fragmented audience
Definition
narrow casting, nich marketing and targeting
Term
taste public
Definition
age, gender, hobbies
Term
media multi-tasking
Definition
simultaneously using multiple kinds of media
Term
platform agnostic
Definition
don't care which medium to get contents
Term
media content has limited impact on audiences because we know it isn't real
Definition

the news is real

ads are supposed to tell the truth

children confront the world through tv = the early window of social learning

Term
media have limited impact on us because they are only for recreation and entertainment
Definition

news is not entertainment

even if media are for recreation, it is important to the way we devleop our knowledge of ourselves and the world

Term
media hold a mirror to society and reflect our world as it is
Definition
media = a very selective mirror and some things are overpresented, others underpresented and some things disappear altogether
Term
administrative research
Definition
asks questions about the immediate observable influence of mass comn
Term
social learning
Definition
basis of complexity of human behavior, fostered by mass media messages
Term
mass comm theories
Definition

explanations of social phenomena that attempt to relate mass comn to our personal and cultural lives

not one single theory

Term
the era of mass society theory
Definition
media are corrupting influences underminding the social order
Term
hypodermic needle/magic bullet theory
Definition
media are a dangerous force that directly penetrates a persons system
Term
the era of the scientific perspective
Definition
media influence was limited by individual differences, social categories, and personal relationships = limited effects theories
Term
uses and gratifications approach
Definition
claims that media do not do things to people; rather people do things with media
Term
disonance theory
Definition
when confronted by conflicting information people experience mental discomfort and they consciously and sub consciously work to reduce that discomfort through selective exposure, selective retention, selective perception
Term
selective exposure
Definition
people expose themselves to only those messages consistent with their pre-existing beliefs
Term
selective retention
Definition
people remember best those msg that are consistent with pre-existing beliefs
Term
selective perception
Definition
people interpret msg in a manner consistent with pre-existing beliefs
Term
dependency theory
Definition
ppl become dependent on media to understand what is going on around them to learn how to behave meaningfully and for escape
Term
social cognitive theory
Definition
ppl copy behaviors they see, imitate it, and identify with it. observers do not always have to copy what they see but sometimes make a related response.
Term
cultivation analysis
Definition
heavy exposure to media, namely tv creates and cultivates attitudes more consistent with a media conjured version of reality than that of actual reality
Term
mainstreaming of reality
Definition
moving individuals toward shared tv - created understanding of how things are
Term
mean world syndrome
Definition
we live in a world in which we are less trusting of our neighbors and more accepting of violence in our midst due to media
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