Term
She's decided to use Google Ads |
|
Definition
her ads, select where they appear, control her budget, and watch her business flourish. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
is an online advertising tool that helps businesses connect with their customers. You create your online ad, tell Google Ads who you want to reach, and Google Ads brings your ads to them. That’s basically it. |
|
|
Term
Connect with customers when it matters |
|
Definition
Google Ads has a sophisticated targeting system that helps you show your ads to the right people, in the right place, at the right time. Use keywords, location, demographics, and more to target your campaigns. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Google Ads gives you complete control over your budget. You choose how much you spend per month, per day, and per ad. There’s no minimum. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Google Ads shows you how many people see your ads, what percentage of them click to visit your website, and even how many click to call you. With these tracking tools, you can even see the actual sales your website is generating as a direct result of your ads.
If you want to change your strategy, you can tweak your ads, try new keywords, or pause your campaign and re-start it whenever you’d like. |
|
|
Term
An ad with text and a clickable link that shows on Google Search results |
|
Definition
Text ads are a classic example of ads, but they're not the only example. Keep flipping! |
|
|
Term
An image ad that shows on a fashion blog site |
|
Definition
Text ads are a classic example of ads, but they're not the only example. Keep flipping! |
|
|
Term
A video ad that shows before a YouTube video |
|
Definition
Video ads can show on YouTube and other sites with video players. |
|
|
Term
The Google Network is made up of two networks: |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
They're the places where your Google Ads ads can appear, including: |
|
Definition
Google sites, partner sites, and other placements like mobile phone apps. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
the words or phrases someone uses to search on Google |
|
|
Term
On the Search Network, your ads may appear on: |
|
Definition
-Google Search, Google Shopping, Google Maps, and Google Play. |
|
|
Term
On the Display Network, your ads may appear on: |
|
Definition
-Google sites like YouTube, Blogger, and Gmail.
-Partnering websites across the internet. |
|
|
Term
How does Google Network can connect you with customers at the exact moment |
|
Definition
searching for your product, reading a blog about your industry, or watching a related video on YouTube. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
The most common kind of Search ad includes a descriptive headline, website URL, and descriptive text like a call to action.
Where they can show:
Search Network Search Partners OK GOT IT!
Choose where customers see your ads Introduction
Customers may see your ads with their search results, on Google or partner websites, or in mobile apps — it all depends on how you set up your Google Ads campaign. This course explains how to choose where customers see your ads and the ad formats possible for each location.
What you’ll learn:
How to identify where customers may see your ads Which ad formats can be used on each Google network
What would you do? Imagine a client has asked you to explain what Google Ads ad formats look like and where they can show. Which of the following are examples of Google Ads ad formats?
Press each card to learn more.
An ad with text and a clickable link that shows on Google Search results Yep! Text ads are a classic example of ads, but they're not the only example. Keep flipping!
An image ad that shows on a fashion blog site You got it! Image ads, a type of Display ad, can show on millions of partners' sites across the Google network. But that’s not the only example.
A video ad that shows before a YouTube video
Totally! Video ads can show on YouTube and other sites with video players.
Google Network 101 You're probably wondering, "What exactly do they mean by Google Network?" Good question. The Google Network is made up of two networks: Search and Display. They're the places where your Google Ads ads can appear, including: Google sites, partner sites, and other placements like mobile phone apps.
Let's take a closer look Exactly what makes the Search and Display Networks unique? Let’s take a look at at how they differ by exploring the advertising strategies of two shops — Kai the Handyman and Karine’s Boutique.
Press the arrow to proceed to the next slide.
Kai is a huge fan of the Google Search Network because he likes how this network makes it super easy for people to find him. When people need help with a leaky roof or a new paint job, they can simply turn to Google Search.
Because he set up his campaign to include keywords — the words or phrases someone uses to search on Google — his ads display at the top of the search results, making it easy to find him fast!
Google Network recap Press each card below to discover the types of sites on which your ad can appear in each network
On the Search Network, your ads may appear on:
-Google Search, Google Shopping, Google Maps, and Google Play.
-Search sites that partner with Google.
On the Display Network, your ads may appear on:
-Google sites like YouTube, Blogger, and Gmail.
-Partnering websites across the internet. Ad formats on the Google Network Ad formats let you choose how to communicate your business to your audience. In this section, we’ll introduce the ad formats available on each network.
The Google Network can connect you with customers at the exact moment they're engaged in an online activity connected to what you offer — like searching for your product, reading a blog about your industry, or watching a related video on YouTube. Choosing the correct ad format for your campaign can ensure your ad is the most relevant and actionable for a particular customer at that moment.
Ad formats Press each of the images below to learn more about the most popular ad formats on the Google Network:
Text ads
Ads with extensions
Responsive ads
Shopping ads
Image ads
Video ads
App promotion ads
Call-only ads
Rich media ads Make it stick Now that you’re more familiar with the Google Network and the different ad formats, let’s get back to that client.
The client’s now asking you to help him understand the difference between the Google Search and Display Networks. Specifically, he wants to know if he can use any ad format on either network. How would you answer him?
Choose the best answer from the options below:
Say, “You can use any ad format on either network. The options are endless!”
Say, “You can use text ads on the Search Network only, and any other format on the Display Network.”
Say, “You can use text ads on the Search Network only and display ads on the Display Network only.”
Say, “Some formats like Shopping ads can only show on the Search Network, some like Rich media ads can only show on the Display Network, and some can show on both.” Submit Show Feedback Recap In this course, we covered the Google Search and Display Networks and which ad formats can show on each. Now ask yourself this: Where in the Google Network could you reach more users?
To learn more, check out the resources below:
About the Search Network About the Display Network MARK COMPLETE |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Ad extensions provide additional information to your text ad, such as your business’s address or phone number.
Where they can show:
Search Network Display Network (depending on the extension) |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
The Display Network offers ads that adjust to match the pages and apps that show them. Viewers are more likely to see these ads because they blend in with the content the viewers came for. Responsive ads can go a long way to help build awareness, influence consideration, and drive action.
Where they can show:
Display Network |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
App promotion ads send your customers to an app store to download your app, or include a deep link directly into your app.
Where they can show:
Search Network Display Network |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Call-only ads allow your customers to call your business directly by clicking on your ad. They’re useful for driving phone calls to your business from devices that can make calls.
Where they can show:
Search Network |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Rich media ads are engaging ad formats that often include animation or other types of motion.
Where they can show:
Display Network |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Image ads capture people's attention as they browse websites in the Google Display Network.
Where they can show:
Search Network* Display Network
*Image ads show on search partner networks, but not the Google Search Network. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Video ads are just what they sound like — a standalone video ad or a video ad that runs inside another streaming video.
Where they can show:
Search Network* Display Network
*Video ads show on search partner networks, but not the Google Search Network. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Is the simplest online ad that Google Ads offers. |
|
|
Term
Only three parts are required for all text ads |
|
Definition
headline, URL, and description. Others are optional. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
People are most likely to notice your headline text. Consider including at least one of your keywords in the headline to make the ad even more relevant to the customer's search.
Details: Two headline fields are available with up to 30 characters each. Look out for how your longer headline — combined via a hyphen — might wrap on mobile devices. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
The URL shows your website address. It gives people an idea of where they'll go when they click your ad.
If your final URL is www.example.com/store/us/indoorplants, your ad’s display URL will show as www.example.com.
What about that path field — the “/store/us/indoorplants” at the end of the display URL? Click the next item in this list to find out. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
There are two optional “path” fields, which can hold up to 15 characters. Part of your display URL, they are placed after your website’s domain to give readers an idea of the content they’ll see upon clicking your ad.
For example, if your final URL is www.example.com/store/us/indoorplants, you might want your path text to be “Indoor-Plants” so your ad’s display URL would be www.example.com/Indoor-Plants. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Use the description field (up to 80 characters) to highlight unique details about your product or service. Be sure to include keywords that match probable search terms. On mobile, where space is tight, Google Ads optimizes your ad to show the highest-performing text. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
reach potential customers, your text ads should be specific, actionable, and relevant. |
|
|
Term
Highlight what makes you unique |
|
Definition
Show customers what makes you stand out from the competition. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Use your descriptions to tell customers what they can do on your site once they click your ad — link them right to where the ad matters. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
If you have a sale, make sure they know. Say it right in the ad. |
|
|
Term
Match your ad to your keywords |
|
Definition
What might customers be thinking when searching for your products or services? Include those search words as keywords in your ad text. |
|
|
Term
Match your ad to your landing page |
|
Definition
Ensure your ad takes customers right where they can act on it. The easier it is to find, the more likely they are to purchase. |
|
|
Term
Writing effective text ads: five tips |
|
Definition
Highlight what makes you unique
Use a call to action
Include sale terms
Match your ad to your keywords
Match your ad to your landing page |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
a lot. People are most likely to read the headline of your ad, so even though you have extra room now, you still need to make every word count.
Also, when viewed on the search results page, your ad’s headline fields are combined using a hyphen, “-”. On mobile, the headline may wrap beyond the first line, so consider how this will read to ensure it’s a compelling experience. |
|
|
Term
People use Google across different devices, so here are some ways to particularly address your mobile audience: |
|
Definition
Direct users to pages of your site that deliver a great experience through mobile-specific URLs.
And if you know about any calls to action or offers that work particularly well on mobile devices, take advantage of ad customizers to speak directly to those mobile users. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Including information below your ad, like additional deep links into your website or business location, has been shown to increase your ad’s performance. |
|
|
Term
Improve landing page experience |
|
Definition
When it comes to making that ad super effective, it’s not all about what’s in the ad itself ...let’s not forget about your landing page experience! Landing page experience is Google Ads’ measure of how well your website gives people who click your ads exactly what they’re looking for — quickly and effortlessly.
More on exactly how to make this experience better coming up! |
|
|
Term
Offer relevant, useful, and original content
Strive to offer useful features or content that are unique to your site. Make your landing page directly relevant to your ad text and keyword: • Be specific |
|
Definition
when the user wants a particular thing. If someone clicks on an ad for a sports car, they shouldn’t wind up on a general “all car models and makes” page. |
|
|
Term
Offer relevant, useful, and original content
Strive to offer useful features or content that are unique to your site. Make your landing page directly relevant to your ad text and keyword: • Be general |
|
Definition
when the user wants options. If someone’s looking to compare digital cameras, they probably don’t want to land on a specific model’s page. |
|
|
Term
Promote transparency and foster trustworthiness on your site |
|
Definition
Openly share information about your business and clearly state what your business does. Explain your products or services before asking visitors to fill out forms. Make it easy for visitors to find your contact information. If you request personal information from customers, make it clear why you're asking for it and what you'll do with it. Distinguish sponsored links, like ads, from the rest of your website’s content. |
|
|
Term
Make mobile and computer navigation easy |
|
Definition
Organize and design your page well, so people don’t have to hunt around for information. Make it quick and easy for people to order the product mentioned in your ad. Avoid pop-ups or other features that interfere with their navigation of your site. Help customers find what they’re looking for by prioritizing above-the-fold content. |
|
|
Term
Be fast — decrease your landing page loading time |
|
Definition
Make sure your landing page loads quickly once someone clicks on your ad, whether on a computer or mobile device. |
|
|
Term
Make your site (even more) mobile-friendly |
|
Definition
See how your site scores on mobile-friendliness and speed, and find out how to improve it. Test how mobile-friendly your site is with the link in our recap section at the end of this course. |
|
|
Term
Extension formats include |
|
Definition
call buttons, location information, additional links, additional text, and more. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
By adding more content to your ad, extensions give your ad greater visibility and prominence on the search results page. That means more people may notice your ad! |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
With extensions, you tend to get more value for your advertising investment. Ad extensions often increase your total number of clicks, and can give people additional, interactive ways of reaching you—as with maps or calls. In fact, research shows Ad extensions yield an average 10-15% increase in click-through-rate for each type of extension implemented.
Note: Performance will vary by client, business type among other factors, and Google cannot guarantee results. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
There's no cost to add extensions to your campaign! Clicks on your ad (including your extension) will be charged as usual. (The exception is clicks on review extensions and seller ratings, which are not charged.)
So you’re charged a click when someone calls you from your call extension, or when someone downloads your app from your app extension. |
|
|
Term
A maximum of ____ extensions can show across a Google Ads campaign at any given time, so by adding these four |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
There’s no ___to set up extensions. |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
First, she adds sitelink extensions, which can show ______ additional links to different pages on her site. |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
callouts, Fareena highlights |
|
Definition
what makes her business unique: “Local flowers, Online ordering, Free delivery”. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
she can highlight specific aspects of her business, like the different types of plants she sells: “Bouquets, Indoor plants, Succulents”. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
— information that Fareena is sure will make it easier for her forgetful customers to place last-minute orders. |
|
|
Term
For example, Google Ads might show seller ratings next to her ad to highlight how highly regarded Fareena’s shop is by her customers. |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
To show extensions, Google Ads requires |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
Goal: All business goals Sitelink extensions |
|
Definition
Link people directly to specific pages of your website (like “hours” and “order now”). |
|
|
Term
Goal: All business goals Callout extensions |
|
Definition
Add additional text to your ad, like “free delivery” or “24/7 customer support.” |
|
|
Term
Goal: All business goals Structured snippets |
|
Definition
Highlight specific aspects of your products and services. They show underneath your text ad on search in the form of a header (ex: "Destinations") and list (ex: "Hawaii, Costa Rica, South Africa"). |
|
|
Term
There are three extensions that can support all business objectives. |
|
Definition
We call them universal extensions |
|
|
Term
Goal: Get customers to buy from your business location Location extensions: |
|
Definition
Encourage people to visit your business by showing your location, a call button, and a link to your business details page—which can include your hours, photos of your business, and directions to get there. |
|
|
Term
Goal: Get customers to convert on your website Price extensions |
|
Definition
Showcase your services or product categories with their prices, so that people can browse your products right from your ad. |
|
|
Term
Goal: Get customers to convert on your website Promotion extensions |
|
Definition
Highlight specific sales and promotions across your ads (e.g., 30% off rose bouquets) |
|
|
Term
Goal: Get people to download your app App extensions: |
|
Definition
Available globally for Android and iOS mobile devices, including tablets. |
|
|
Term
Google Ads campaign types |
|
Definition
Search campaign Display campaign Search campaigns with Display opt-in Video campaign Shopping campaign Universal App Campaign |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
In a Search campaign, your ads can appear near Google search results and other Google sites when people search for terms that are relevant to your ad’s keywords.
This campaign type is useful for advertisers who want to show their text ads to high-potential customers right when they’re searching for related products or services. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
|
|
Term
|
Definition
your ads can appear throughout the Google Display Network. This campaign type works by matching your ads to websites or mobile apps that include content that's related to your business or to your customers' interests. You can set up targeting to match your ads to the most relevant Display sites based on their topics, interested audiences, demographics, and more.
This campaign type is useful for advertisers who want to generate awareness of their business and target audiences with specific interests across the web. |
|
|
Term
Search campaigns with Display opt-in |
|
Definition
When you create a Search campaign, you’ll have the option to select “Display opt-in”. This selection allows you to show your ads on the search results page of the Google Search Network and relevant placements on the Display Network. With this option, you only need to create search ads and those run seamlessly across both the Search and Display networks.
This type allows you to expand your potential audience. Your ads can reach people as they browse or research similar products, whether they're looking on Google Search or on a relevant website. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
With a Video campaign type you can run video ads on YouTube and on sites across the Google Display Network.
This type allows you to engage customers in different ways on YouTube and across video partner sites. Available video ad formats include: TrueView in-stream ads, TrueView video discovery ads, and bumper ads. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
With a Shopping campaign type, you might see your ads in Google Shopping, next to search results, and near text and responsive ads. They can also show up on Google Search partner websites like YouTube.
This campaign type is useful for retailers who want to promote their online and local inventory, boost traffic to their website or local store, and find better qualified leads. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
|
|
Term
. Please note that adding a goal will not affect the |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
Adjust your campaign settings |
|
Definition
Campaign name
Campaign type
Networks
Devices
Locations and languages
Bidding and budget Ad extensions
Additional settings |
|
|
Term
Campaign settings Campaign name |
|
Definition
This is where you enter a name for your campaign. Although Google Ads enters a default campaign name for you, you may rename it so that you can easily find it in your account. Your campaign name isn't visible to your customers. |
|
|
Term
Campaign settings Campaign type |
|
Definition
The campaign type that you choose tailors the campaign set-up to what's appropriate for your goals. If you tell Google Ads your advertising goals, you’ll see relevant suggestions over time based on the goals that you select. |
|
|
Term
Campaign settings Networks |
|
Definition
The Networks setting indicates where you want your ad to appear based on the campaign type that you chose. For example, with the Google Search Network, your ad can appear on Google search sites and non-Google search sites (such as CNN) that partner with Google to show search ads, called search partners.
With the Google Display Network, your ad is displayed on other sites that partner with Google to show ads. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Campaigns target all types of devices, including desktops, tablets, and mobile devices. Later, you can choose to customize ads for different devices. |
|
|
Term
Campaign settings Locations and languages |
|
Definition
Your campaign’s ads are eligible to show to customers in your targeted geographic locations, or to customers who have selected your targeted language as their browser’s language setting. We recommend choosing the language that you serve your customers in. |
|
|
Term
Campaign settings Bidding and budget |
|
Definition
Choose to manually set your bids for clicks on your ads or let Google Ads do it for you. Depending on your campaign type, you may see additional bidding options to choose from. Your bid strategy controls how you pay for users to interact with your ads. Your bid limit is the most that you’ll pay per click for ads in an ad group. Your budget is the average amount that you’re comfortable spending each day on your campaign. The budget that you choose is entirely up to you, and you can adjust it at any time. |
|
|
Term
Campaign settings Ad extensions |
|
Definition
Include even more information with your ads, such as location information, links to pages on your website, and your phone number. |
|
|
Term
Campaign settings Additional settings |
|
Definition
Here are some additional, optional features to help you optimize your campaign:
Schedule: Set a campaign start and end date Ad scheduling: Choose certain days or hours of the week for your ads to show Ad delivery: By default, Google Ads shows your ads when they're more likely to get clicks or conversions, but you can choose to show your ads more evenly throughout the day Advanced location options Campaign URL options |
|
|
Term
How is Google Ads organized? Account |
|
Definition
Your account is associated with a unique email address, password, and billing information. |
|
|
Term
How is Google Ads organized? Campaign |
|
Definition
Your ad campaign has its own budget and setting that determine where your ads appear. |
|
|
Term
How is Google Ads organized? Ad group |
|
Definition
Your ad group contains a set of similar ads as well as keywords (the words and phrases that trigger your ads to show up). |
|
|
Term
Organization best practices |
|
Definition
Create separate campaigns for different product areas, promotions, or regions
Create separate ad groups with relevant keywords and bids for each product or service
Explore if a Google Ads manager account is right for you |
|
|
Term
Create separate campaigns for different product areas, promotions, or regions |
|
Definition
Most businesses sell various products or services. In order to easily view, edit, and report on the performance of different products and services, we recommend creating separate campaigns for each high-level product area or service you’re advertising.
Anastasia created separate campaigns for jackets, shoes, and bags. You may also consider creating separate campaigns for different promotions or regions. |
|
|
Term
Explore if a Google Ads manager account is right for you |
|
Definition
If you manage more than five accounts or want to monitor performance or track conversions across accounts, a Google Ads manager account is probably the best option for you. Read more about these account options in the resources at the end of this course.
Anastasia is so happy she decided to create a Google Ads manager account. It’s allowed her to consolidate management across the many accounts she oversees. |
|
|
Term
Find potential customers online |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
Find potential customers online Who |
|
Definition
One aspect of targeting focuses on “WHO” is in your target audience.
Audience targeting helps you identify, re-engage, and expand your audience online. You can target those who actively intend to purchase your products and personalize your ads with relevant messages. All thanks to machine learning.
Example: For customers who abandoned a shopping cart without making a purchase, show ads with “20% Off Your Next Order!” to encourage them to complete the purchase. This is called remarketing.
Demographic targeting allows you to reach a specific set of potential customers who are likely to be within a particular age range, gender, parental status, or household |
|
|
Term
Find potential customers online Where |
|
Definition
Another aspect of targeting focuses on “WHERE” your audience is.
“WHERE” can refer to where your customers are in the physical world (e.g., location and device targeting) or where they are online (e.g., contextual or topic targeting).
Example: Suppose you've created an ad group to advertise your car dealership’s latest lineup and you've included keywords like “fuel-efficient cars” and “2018 electric cars”. We use contextual targeting to identify and place your ad on pages that match those keywords. |
|
|
Term
Find potential customers online What |
|
Definition
The final aspect of targeting focuses on “WHAT” is of interest to your audience.
With Google Ads, you can specify keywords based on what people are searching for. When people search for words like your keywords on Google or partner sites, you can display your ads alongside those search results.
Example: Say you own a flower shop. You can create keywords like “flowers for mom”. When people search “flowers for mom”, your ad may show alongside those search results. |
|
|
Term
Target your ads with Google Ads |
|
Definition
Goal Demographic Location — local store Topic targeting Remarketing Close |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
|
|
Term
Organize your keywords by |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
Select specific keywords to target |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Reach as many people as possible. Not very targeted, higher bid amount |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
places you don't want your add to show up |
|
|
Term
How many keywords per ad group? |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
|
Definition
shows your ads based on keywords and close variations like synonyms and misspellings.
Example: A search for “tennis sneakers” could return your ad
Benefit: Shows ads most broadly with least amount of set up
Set it up: Do nothing — this is the default for all searches |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
shows your ads based on the broad match, but excludes synonyms.
Example: A search for “buy tenis shoes” could return your ad
Benefit: More targeted, can increase clicks and conversions
Set it up: Add plus sign ( + ) before terms |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
shows your ads based on exact phrases and close variations.
Example: A search for “tennis shoes reviews” could return your ad
Benefit: More targeted
Set it up: Add quotes (“ ”) around term |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
shows your ads based on exact keywords and close variations.
Example: A search for “tennis shoes” could return your ads
Benefit: Narrows ad's potential audience the most
Set it up: Add brackets ([ ]) around term |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
shows your ads based on searches and site visits that exclude keywords.
Example: A search for “men’s tennis shoes” would not return your ad
Benefit: Prevents ad from showing on unrelated searches or websites
Set it up: Add minus sign ( - ) before terms that should never trigger ads |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
this is the maximum amount you are willing to pay for a user to click on your ad and visit your site. |
|
|
Term
Expected clickthrough rate (CTR) |
|
Definition
is the prediction of how often your ad will get clicked when shown for a keyword. |
|
|
Term
A positive landing page experience: |
|
Definition
Includes relevant and original content that helps the user complete their task Is easily navigable Articulates your business clearly |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
is calculated by analyzing the language in your ad to determine how well it relates to the search query. Ad relevancy is a key factor in the auction process, enabling users to see only useful ads that are relevant to the search performed. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
like those that include various ad extensions, may influence rank as well. For example, using various ad extensions, like a sitelink to a page on your website, your address, or phone number, may serve to bolster your rank. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
an estimate of the quality of your ads and landing pages triggered by that keyword. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Pay every time the publisher serves your ad. I want to raise brand awareness. Most often used for raising awareness of your company or product, rather than persuading customers to buy right now. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Pay each time someone clicks on your ad, regardless of what happens after the click. I want to drive traffic to my site This works well if you’re focused on increasing sales or website traffic. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Pay only if a user sees an ad on the publisher’s site and later makes a purchase or completes some other desired action on your website.
Publishers take on more risk when using the CPA model, since there’s no guarantee that someone will click the ad. This can make CPA campaigns a bit pricier than other options, but with higher returns. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Pay every time your ad is displayed on screen.
The “v” means the ad is viewable, which is defined as 50% of the ad being shown on the screen for over one second (not buried lower on the page, or displayed on a page where someone navigates away while the page is still loading). |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Pay for people watching or interacting with your video ad, like clicking on a call-to-action overlay or companion banner ad.
This is the default option for video ads. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Bid simulator runs "what-if" scenarios like, "How many more impressions would I have gotten if my bid had been $0.10 higher last week?" |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Keyword Planner shows you how often some keywords get searched, and gives you cost estimates at a glance |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
First-page bid estimates helps you see how much you may need to bid to put your ad on the first page of Google Search results. |
|
|
Term
Studies have shown of ______a marketer's time is spent manually optimizing campaigns.1 How best could you use this time? |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
You’re likely to get better results if your campaign is already getting at least ______and 15 clicks per month before you enable automated bidding. This isn’t a requirement, but this kind of data helps the algorithm work its magic. |
|
Definition
|
|
Term
When to use manual bidding |
|
Definition
You don’t have enough conversions to meet the recommendations for automated bidding You need 100 percent control of how you pay for views, clicks or conversions |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Maximize clicks automatically sets your bids to help get as many clicks as possible within your budget. It can increase site visits and increase clicks on low-traffic terms.
Good for advertisers just starting off with online marketing who are most interested in getting customers to their website. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Target return-on-ad-spend (ROAS) bids more where Google Ads estimates ads are more likely to lead to a sale — aiming to get as much return on ad spend as possible.
Good for advertisers who know the exact value of each conversion to their business. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Automated bidding strategies designed to generate conversions include Enhanced cost per click (ECPC), Maximize conversions and Target cost per acquisition (CPA). We’ll dive into each of these in the following section.
Good for advertisers looking to drive conversions. |
|
|
Term
Enhanced cost per click (ECPC) |
|
Definition
is a semi-automated bid strategy which adjusts your bids to get you as many conversions as possible, within your determined budget. You set keyword bids and let Google Ads work its magic to improve your campaign’s performance.
Good for advertisers looking for an incremental increase in conversions while still retaining control over their keyword bids |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
bidding automatically sets bids at auction time to get you as much conversion volume as possible within your campaign’s budget.
Good for those with a fixed advertising budget already seeing at least 15 conversions and 15 clicks per month, who do not know how much they should be willing to pay for a conversion (in other words, they do not have a target CPA). |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
automatically sets bids to help get as many conversions as possible at the target CPA you set (some conversions may cost more or less than your target). Target CPA does not operate within a set budget.
Good for advertisers who know how much they’re willing to pay for a conversion and prioritize maintaining a specific cost per conversion over driving conversion volume. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
allows you to see how effectively your ad clicks lead to valuable customer activity, like purchases or newsletter sign-ups. In order to use automated bidding, you’ll need to enable conversion tracking. Review the resources section at the end of the course for steps to do so. |
|
|
Term
Use device bid adjustments |
|
Definition
to show your ad more or less frequently for searches that occur on different devices. You can adjust your bid across mobile, desktop, and tablet to optimize more precisely for each device. |
|
|
Term
Use location bid adjustments |
|
Definition
to show your ad more or less frequently to customers in certain countries, cities, or other geographic areas. |
|
|
Term
Use ad scheduling bid adjustments |
|
Definition
to increase or decrease your bids on certain days or during certain hours. |
|
|
Term
Use bid adjustments for popular content |
|
Definition
to increase your ad’s chance of showing on top content on YouTube and the Display Network. When your ad is eligible to appear on this content, Google Ads will use your bid adjustment to raise your bid |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
Use bid adjustments for topics, placements, and other targeting methods in campaign types that show ads on the Display Network. |
|
|
Term
Use bid adjustments for remarketing lists |
|
Definition
in your ad groups if you’d like to show ads more or less frequently to people on these lists. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
for more control over how potential customers connect with your business. |
|
|
Term
The "Standard" delivery method |
|
Definition
is like a slow-burning candle – it spreads your budget throughout the day. |
|
|
Term
The "Accelerated" delivery method |
|
Definition
is more like jet fuel – it uses your budget more quickly. Accelerated delivery is ideal for advertisers who want to show results more quickly. |
|
|
Term
Building awareness will require |
|
Definition
a larger budget due to the longer path to conversion and the scale at which you try to reach people. |
|
|
Term
Influencing consideration |
|
Definition
is mid funnel and can be accomplished with a small, medium, and large ad budget. With a medium length path to conversion, a medium to large budget is preferred so you can reach a wider group of people and begin moving them to action. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
is at the bottom of the marketing funnel where you typically have a small group of your target audience. You can meet all of your action goals with a small, medium, or large daily budget. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
will tell you what percentage of those who clicked on your ad actually ended up purchasing. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
lists the searches and terms that people have used before seeing your ad and clicking it. If a term is getting you in front of customers, add it to your keyword list. |
|
|
Term
The Where your users were (user locations) report |
|
Definition
shows only your customers' physical locations (regardless of any locations they may have shown interest in). If customers in a certain region are gravitating to you, update your campaign to directly target them |
|
|
Term
The What triggered your ad (geographic) report |
|
Definition
shows your customers' physical locations and locations they had shown interest in through searches or content they had viewed. If customers interested in certain locations are finding you, update your campaign to directly offer something they’re looking for. |
|
|
Term
The landing page experience report |
|
Definition
estimates the quality of your landing page — which is part of your Google Ads Quality Score and strengthens or weakens your ad position. If you have a weak landing page, a link is provided with tips to make it better. |
|
|
Term
The paid and organic report |
|
Definition
shows how people got to you — comparing Google’s free organic search results to your paid ads. Learn the ways customers are looking for products and services like yours and update your own keyword list or create new ad groups to directly target them. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
show you the paths customers took to complete a conversion, and attribute the conversion to different ads, clicks, and factors along the way. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
shows how often your ad was shown on a search result page or site on the Google Network. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
shows how many clicks your ad has received |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
shows the percentage of people who could see your ad and clicked on it. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
show how many people clicked from your ad to your site and did something you valued, such as a purchase, sign-up, phone call, or download. |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
shows how much each ad conversion cost you. (Also called cost per acquisition, CPA.) |
|
|
Term
|
Definition
shows how many conversions on your site resulted from an ad click. Example: 50 conversions from 1,000 clicks, 50 ÷ 1000 = 5 percent conversion rate |
|
|
Term
Return on investment (ROI) |
|
Definition
tells you how effective your ad spend is by showing you how much return it’s bringing you. ROI is calculated with this formula: (Profit - Cost) / Cost |
|
|
Term
return on ad spend (ROAS), |
|
Definition
which is a measure of an ad's effectiveness not containing aspects such as cost of goods or other costs of the business. |
|
|
Term
Top Reasons for disapproval |
|
Definition
Spelling and Grammar, Style |
|
|